Congratulations New Mayor and Members of Maumee City Council!

Jim MacDonald was sworn into office January 2 becoming the 51st Mayor of Maumee.

Mr. MacDonald was elected to the office in November in an uncontested race. He also served a four-year term on Maumee City Council where he was named president, after being elected in 2019.

For 32 years the newly elected Mayor was also a member of the Maumee Police Division where he advanced through the ranks to the position of Chief, which he served for five years before his retirement in 2018.

Mayor MacDonald succeeds former Mayor Richard Carr who served 26 years in elected office and did not seek another term.

Maumee City Council members Scott Noonan, Gabe Barrow, and Ted Kurt were also sworn into office on January 2 after being elected in November to three open seats on Maumee City Council.

Mr. Noonan and Mr. Barrow were each elected to their second term and were sworn into office at the first meeting of the new year. Mr. Noonan was also appointed to a term in 2017.

Mr. Kurt was sworn into his first term on Monday and was absent from the Maumee City Council meeting due to a recent surgery; however, he participated in the council meeting by phone.

Also at the Jan. 2 meeting Mr. Barrow was also elected as the new President of Council.